Divisions and Units

The South Whitehall Township Police Department began service on January 5, 1970 and has been in continuous service since that date. The department was initially comprised of five officers and the Chief of Police.

It has since grown to a complement of thirty-eight officers plus the Police Chief and two civilian staff. In addition to providing 24-hour patrol service and crime investigation, the department participates in the regional DUI Task Force, sponsors a local DARE program, maintains both K9 and Bicycle patrolling services and participates in two Crime Watch groups.