South Whitehall is an integral part of the Allentown-Bethlehem-Easton metropolitan area. The Township is located in Lehigh County, immediately west of Allentown, approximately 55 miles northeast of Philadelphia and 90 miles west of New York City. The Township is bordered by several jurisdictions. The western edge of the Township is bound by Upper Macungie and Lower Macungie Townships. Salisbury Township and the City of Allentown form the southern boundary. Whitehall Township is located to the east of South Whitehall, while North Whitehall Township borders the north.